News Ticker

Hagerty, Giles, Justice win big; liquor stores pass

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

Mayor Ed Hagerty, Art Giles and Ray Justice each had big wins in the city elections Tuesday. 

A referendum to allow liquor stores in Mt. Juliet also passed by a large margin. 

Hagerty won with 51 percent of the vote. 

“I’m very excited,” said Hagerty. “We had a good campaign.”

Hagerty said that both of his opponents, Jim Bradshaw and Jamie Luffman, ran good, clean campaigns, which he was pleased to see. 

“I’m very appreciative of the confidence [Mt. Juliet voters] have placed in me,” said Hagerty. 

He said one of his goals was to achieve 50 percent of the vote. 

Hagerty received 5,514 votes. Bradshaw was in second with 4,061 (37 percent) and Luffman finished with 1,122 (10 percent).

In the City Commissioner District 1 race, Ray Justice finished with 1,162 votes (53 percent). Michael Gallion had 560 votes (26 percent) and Jonathan Brydalski had 454 votes (21 percent).

In the City Commissioner District 3 race, Art Giles returns to the seat with 1,536 votes (57 percent). Challenger Britt Linville had 1,138 votes (42 percent). 

Terry Duncan took the vacant County Commissioner District 2 seat with 874 votes (53 percent). He defeated Richard Moses, who finished with 745 votes (46 percent). 

The referendum on whether to allow liquor stores in Mt. Juliet city limits passed by a large margin. It passed 8,277 votes (71 percent) to 3,321 (29 percent). 

A charter amendment to allow recall elections also passed easily, 9,494 votes (84 percent) to 1,797 (15 percent). 

In the U.S. President race, Wilson County voters chose Mitt Romney with 70 percent at 36,076. President Barack Obama received 14,669 for 28 percent of the vote. 

U.S. Senator Bob Corker easily won his seat back. Statewide precincts were not complete by press time, but Corker won Wilson County with 36,959 votes. 

Diane Black easily won her U.S. 6th Congressional District seat. In Wilson County, she received 35,623 votes (75 percent. 

Susan Lynn ran unopposed Tennessee 57th representative district.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply