News Ticker

Bears back, beat Blue Devils, 29-8

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

One of the questions coming into the 2013 season, is how would Mt. Juliet be able to replace two 1,000 yard rushers. 

Kyle Smith took care of some of those concerns, getting 167 yards on just nine carries and three touchdowns in a win over Lebanon Thursday night. 

In the first quarter, it looked like Lebanon was going to control the tempo. A 59-yard touchdown run by Taye Davis and a 2-point conversion put the Blue Devils up 8-0. The Bears only managed  one first down in the first quarter, and it wasn’t until a big stop early in the second quarter that the Bears were able to steal some momentum. 

On 4th-and-1 from the Bears 46, the Blue Devils tried to pick up the first down, but were stuffed. Seven plays later, Smith got the first big run of the night for the Bears, going 27 yards down to the four. He punched it in, but a 2-point conversion failed to make it 8-6. 

The Bears used an 11-play drive just before the half to get the lead. They weren’t able to get into the end zone, but Justin Dubay added a 34-yard field goal to give the Bears a 9-8 lead at the half. 

In the third quarter, Smith struck again, this time getting to the second level, stumbling while going into a spin move, then outracing everyone to the end zone for 74 yards. The 2-point conversion failed again, making it 15-8. 

On Mt. Juliet’s next possession, Nolan Chowbay dropped back, broke away from a sack, rolled out and found Kyle Mahler for a 20-yard gain. A personal foul pushed it 15 yards further, and two plays later, Smith got his third TD on a 46-yard run, making it 22-8. 

Courtland Douglas capped off the scoring with another long touchdown run, this time from 79 yards out. 

Mt. Juliet will play their first home game of the season next week as they host Antioch. Kickoff is 7 p.m.

In our Football Preview section, some names were left off the Mt. Juliet roster. They were: Kyle Smith, Alex Landis, Kyle Fisher, Myles Fisher, Justin Dubay, Garrett Zickgraf, Jay Murphy, Blake Propes, Chase Sullivan, Alec Naiman, Andrew Fletcher, Matt Massey, Sidney Willis, Dominick Jamison, Jacob Bailey, C.J. Brooks and Michael Moore. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply