News Ticker

Election Day 2014

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

There were some big wins, tight races and a few surprises on Election Day Thursday. 

Only 22,639 ballots were cast of the 76,902 registered voters in Wilson County during Early Voting and Election Day.

In the County Commission races, Becky Siever, Adam Bannach, Chad Barnard, Frank Bush, Sonja L. Robinson, Diane Weathers, Wendell Marlowe and Jim Emberton won their districts in the Mt. Juliet area. 

“I’m very happy the residents of the 22nd District gave me an opportunity to serve them four more years,” said Marlowe. 

Marlowe defeated John Jankowich 54.59 percent to 45.41. Marlowe applauded Jankowich for working hard on the campaign. 

“I am thrilled my district felt confidence in me,” said District 1 County Commissioner Becky Siever. “I feel honored.” 

Siever won handily over contender Scott Leslie, 69.07 percent to 30.93 percent.

“I think we need to address some quality of life issues in Wilson County,” said Siever. Siever said the County Commission needs to continue to look at the needs of emergency services, valuing education, and keep the great working relationships they have with the cities of Wilson County. She also believes that the County Commission needs to work on bringing things like more sports complexes and parks to the county because the community will rally behind it. 

In the School Board races, Linda Armistead defeated incumbent Ron Britt and challenger Sam Green. Armistead had 46.28 percent of the vote, Britt had 41.85 percent and Green finished with 11.76 percent. 

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve the students, parents, and community as a school board member,” said Armistead. “Our school system is one of the finest in the state, and we want to continue building on our strengths, which involves parents, and teachers working together. It is important to ensure that students in the elementary are given time to concentrate on the basics and that they are provided with a segment of time every day for physical activity. This is a matter that concerns teachers and parents alike. To expect children to sit in a classroom all day and stay on task is not realistic.”

A referendum to add two more school board members, increasing it to seven, passed pretty easily, 65.49 percent to 34.51 percent. Those seats would be added in the August 2016 election. 

In the Governor Republican Primary, Wilson County voters chose Bill Haslam, who won the state wide race as well. 

In the U.S. Senate, Wilson County voters preferred Joe Carr with 53.63 of the vote, but Lamar Alexander won the race statewide. 

Diane Black easily won her primary in the U.S. House of Representatives 6th District over challenger Jerry Lowery with 75.89 percent of the vote in Wilson County. 

Mae Beavers held off Lebanon’s Clark Boyd to return to her spot as the 17th District in the Tennessee Senate. Mark Pody ran unopposed in the Tennessee House of Representatives 46th District, as did Susan Lynn in the Tennessee House of Representatives 57th District. 

Dwayne Craighead won the State Executive Committeeman, and Jennifer Franklin Winfree won State Executive Committeewoman.

On the Democratic side, Charles Brown won the primary for Governor, and Gordon Ball for U.S. Senate. 

Aubrey Givens won State Executive Committeman and Rachel Givens won State Executive Committeewoman. 

John D. Wooten, Jr. won the Circuit Court Judge Division II with 68 percent of the vote over Aubrey T. Givens. C.K. Smith won Chancellor with 64 percent of the vote over Gordon Aulgur. 

Brody Kane won the Criminal Court Judge position, defeating Brian Fuller, 70.43 percent to 29.53 percent. 

“I’m thankful for all of those who supported me in this campaign as well as those in the community who elected me to the position of 15th Judicial District Criminal Court Judge,” said Kane. “I look forward to conducting the people’s business in the years to come.”

County Mayor Randall Hutto was unopposed in the County Mayor race, and received 18,236 votes. 

Jim Major will return as County Trustee with a 57.29 win over challenger Nick Hays. 

The General Sessions Judge Division I and Division III contest were unopposed races, as Barry Tatum and John T. Gwin collected 17,143 and 16,810 votes. The Division II race saw five candidates, four of them in a tight race. Haywood Barry was the victor with 26.05 percent of the vote. Shelley Thompson Gardner finished second with 24.21 percent of the vote, Andy Wright had 23.94 percent of the vote and Trey Marshall had 21.97 percent of the vote. Harry A. Christensen finished with 3.79 percent. 

Robert C. Bryan was unopposed in the Wilson County Sheriff race, and garnered 17,533 votes. 

Debbie Moss won the four person race for Circuit Court Clerk. She pulled in 36.05 of the vote over Felicia Plumlee Hale, Bud Brandon and Jeff Dickson. 

Jim Goodall will return as County Clerk, as he ran unopposed and got 19,169 votes. John Spickard also ran unopposed in the Register of Deeds vote, and got 18,004 votes. 

The other referendum on the ballot was a sales tax increase and that was resoundingly defeated, 76.57 percent to 23.43 percent. 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply