Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

School Board approves contract with Wright
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

The Wilson County School Board approved the contract with new Director of Schools Dr. Donna Wright. 

Rape suspect apprehended in Mt. Juliet
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

A rape suspect out of Davidson County was apprehended in Mt. Juliet after a citizen spotted the man in a wooded area. 

According to the Metro-Nashville Police Department, German Ricardo Giron Gonzalez, 20 had fled his car when a Metro-Nashville spotted him near the Davidson-Wilson County line. Sunday night, a woman reported that she spent the night at a home where Gonzalez was staying as well. She woke up to Gonzalez sexually assaulting her, and he fled when she screamed. 

W.A. Wright gets much needed security upgrade
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

W.A. Wright Elementary got a much needed security update recently, the quality of which is rare for elementary schools. 

The school had never updated their system, which was on analog with black and white monitors. This one, provided by Avigilon out of Lebanon, gives the capability to see more areas in the school with color pictures as well as being able to view the cameras from an iPad. This makes the job much easier for the school’s School Resource Officer, Deputy Jarrod Buhler. 

“It makes it so much easier to help protect the students and the staff,” said Buhler.  “I think it’s made a really big difference.”

Buhler said before he just had to walk the halls constantly to make sure everything was covered. This way, he can go to the places he needs to go, while also having the iPad handy in case something was to happen in another part of the school. 

Principal Jill Giles said it was like going from a black and white TV to a Bluray. 

“I’m thrilled with the new system,” said Giles. “It makes us more confident. We have better coverage outside and the whole school.”

The new system was become a reality because of the help of the PALS group at the school. Buhler told Mindy Oldham, one of the members of the PALS, and she took on the task. With an extra fundraiser or two, the group was able to purchase the security system for just under $18,000. 

Black seeking 17th District office
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Announcing his candidacy this week for 17th District Democratic Executive Committeeman, Lebanon businessman and community leader Bob Black said he looks forward to putting his life experiences to work for the State Democratic Party.

The 17th District includes Cannon, Clay, DeKalb, Macon, Smith and Wilson counties. The election is set for Thursday, August 7.

“I see this as an opportunity to be closely involved with the state Democratic organization as it decides policy and makes decisions that will undoubtedly define the future of Tennessee and all Tennesseans in all walks of life regardless of their political affiliations, religious beliefs or economic standing.

“As someone who is proud of his state and is optimistic about the future, I want us to provide classrooms that will ensure our children will excel, an economy that is vibrant and encourages job growth, and I want us to always be mindful of government’s responsibility to certain social issues that embrace security and compassion,” Black said.

A graduate of Texas A&M University, Black began his professional career just out of college with the Sears company and developed new businesses until 1986.

For more than 25 years he has been involved in the banking and financial industry providing services related to credit card processing. Within the industry he is recognized as an innovator with a high degree of expertise and a “get it done mentality.” He has earned this reputation through his experience in sales and from the results he secured while holding key leadership and executive positions with major companies engaged in the credit card processing business.

In 2003 he launched his own company, Payment Express Systems, based in Lebanon. Under his management and in the span of less than nine years Payment Express Systems grew to more than $2 billion in annual processing volume and was awarded the Excellence in Business SEIBC award for ethics in the State of Tennessee. In June of 2012, Priority Payment Systems purchased the assets of Payment Express, utilizing Black and the 45-employee Payment Express team. Black now serves as senior vice president of Financial Services for the community bank division of Priority.

He and his wife Pam maintain a number of interests outside his principle business. The two of them together embarked on a personal historical preservation project some three years ago purchasing and renovating the old Capitol Theater just off Lebanon’s Public Square. Now completed following more than a $2 million investment, the Capitol is the host venue for live musical performances, classic movies, wedding receptions, fundraisers for local nonprofits, and a variety of other community uses.

The candidate is active in the Boy Scouts Walton Trail (past chair) City of Lebanon Board of Zoning Appeals (chair), Habitat for Humanity of Greater Nashville (board member, past chair), New Leash of Life Animal Welfare, Rotary, Historic Lebanon redevelopment, Community Foundation, Support of the 15th Judicial District Child Advocacy Center, Sherry’s Run, and Cumberland University Development Board. He is a graduate and former board member of Leadership Wilson County.   

2 men, 1 armed, rob Nick’s Market
Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Two men, one armed with a black handgun with a laser, robbed the Nick’s Market at 13620 Lebanon Road Monday. 

The Mt. Juliet Police Department was summoned by a hold-up alarm activation at Nick’s. The store owner said he was robbed by two men. One had the weapon and demanded cash from the register. A third suspect drove the getaway vehicle. No one was injured. 

<< Start < Prev 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 Next > End >>

Page 56 of 185