Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

Teaches of the Year: Gladeville's Debbie Yankura and Stoner Creek's Jennifer Marshall
Tuesday, March 25, 2014

This week we will meet two more Teachers of the Year. The first is Debbie Yankura of Gladeville Elementary and the second is Jennifer Marshall of Stoner Creek Elementary. 

Yankura is in her fourth year at Gladeville, but has been a teacher for eight years. She teaches fifth grade science, and loves the hands on aspect of the subject. 

She loves the small community of Gladeville and how the students, families and school staff really work together well.

Yankura was surprised by being voted Teacher of the Year, and was shocked that her name was even on the nomination list. 

“I was blown away by that,” said Yankura. 

She said she is beyond blessed and that anyone on the staff at Gladeville Elementary could be Teacher of the Year. 

Marshall is in her 7th year at Stoner Creek Elementary. She has also taught in Memphis City Schools and Metro Schools in her 15 year career. 

Marshall teaches kindergarten, and she likes it because it gives you a chance to build a good foundation for the students’ academic career. 

“I like that your their first impression of school,” said Marshall. 

Marshall has four children in Stoner Creek, two in elementary, two in the daycare there. But that’s not the only family she has there. 

“I love that Stoner Creek is like family,” she said. 

She said the school operates as one big family, and it is just a great environment to work. 

She was honored to named as the Teacher of the Year at the school. 

“It is not something to be taken lightly,” said Marshall. “I was very honored.” 

Both Yankura and Mashall are now up for Wilson County Teacher of the Year. They will be announced at banquet, April 11 at Baird Chapel on the campus of Cumberland University. The banquet is sponsored by Cedar Stone Bank and Wilson County Motors. 

3 armed men rob Goodwill
Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Three masked men robbed the Goodwill at gunpoint Tuesday, March 11. 

Mt. Juliet Police officers were summoned to the location at 1321 N. Mt. Juliet Road Tuesday for a hold-up alarm. Three men had entered the back door, pointed guns at the staff, and took an undisclosed amount of cash. One of the staff members was pushed to the ground during the robbery. The robbers fled the scene and officers were not able to locate them. No one was seriously injured during the incident.  

Teacher of the Year: MJMS' Tiffany McNeese
Tuesday, March 18, 2014

This week we meet Mt. Juliet Middle School’s Teacher of the Year, Tiffany McNeese. 

McNeese has spent her entire 13-year teaching career at Mt. Juliet Middle in Language Arts. She always wanted to teach kindergarten, but she took the job at Mt. Juliet Middle to get her foot in the door. She fell in love with it, and forgot about going back to elementary. 

“I’ve never even pursued it,” said McNeese. 

Part of the reason is the great people she gets to work with every day. 

“They are like a second family,” said McNeese. 

She said she loves the atmosphere, the faculty and administration, and never dreads going to work. 

“It’s just fun to come here,” said McNeese. 

McNeese said she was “very honored and humbled” to receive the Teacher of the Year, especially since some of the other people that were nominated had been there much longer and were such great teachers. 

McNeese will now be up for Wilson County Teacher of the Year. That will be announced April 11 at a banquet at Cumberland University. It is sponsored by Wilson County Motors and Cedar Stone Bank. 

Rep. Black files for re-election
Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Recently, U.S. Congressman Diane Black (R-TN-06) turned in her qualifying petition for reelection to the U.S. House of Representatives; officially launching her 2014 Congressional campaign. Black released the following statement:

“President Obama and his liberal counterparts in Congress will not relent in their efforts to shape the future of our country, and neither should we,” said Congressman Diane Black. “I ran for Congress to cut wasteful spending, fight back against Obamacare, and protect Tennesseans from an out-of-control federal government that has simply forgotten its place. We have made great strides on these fronts but there is more work to be done. That is why today, I am declaring my candidacy for reelection.”

First known for her efforts in the Tennessee General Assembly to combat Governor Don Sundquist’s proposed state income tax, Black has also earned a reputation as a conservative leader in the U.S. Congress through her support of a balanced budget amendment to the U.S. Constitution, her votes to defund and fully repeal Obamacare, and most recently, by voting against members of her own party leadership to oppose legislation granting President Obama a blank check to raise the federal debt ceiling.  

During her time in Congress, Black has received numerous distinctions for her consistently conservative voting record, including recently being rated among the top 15 most conservative Members of Congress by National Journal, being honored with the American Conservative Union’s “ACU Conservative Award” and being given the highest score in the entire House of Representatives for combating illegal immigration by Numbers USA.  Additionally, Black maintains a 100% pro-life score from National Right to Life, earned an “A” rating on the most recent NRA scorecard, and has picked up an early reelection endorsement from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.

Tennessee’s sixth Congressional district includes Cannon, Clay, Coffee, Cumberland, DeKalb, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Robertson, Smith, Sumner, Trousdale, White and Wilson county, as well as portions of Cheatham and Van Buren county.  

Gwin announces re-election campaign
Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Wilson County Family Court Judge John T. Gwin has announced his intention to run for re-election to the position he has held since the Court was first formed.  Also known as Division III of the General Sessions Court, Gwin first won election to the position in 2008.  “It has been a special privilege to serve the citizens of Wilson County”, said Gwin, “and I pledge to continue to dedicate my full time and energy to the job.”

Gwin maintained a private law practice for more than 30 years, with primary emphasis on family law matters.  During that time, he was also the City Judge for the City of Mt. Juliet from 1993 through 2008.  He is Past President of the 15th Judicial District Bar Association;  Past President of the Tennessee Municipal Judges Association;  and served on the Tennessee Judicial Council.  He is a current member of the Tennessee Bar Association, Family Law Division.

Gwin was on active duty military service from 1968 through 1972, and earned his Doctor of Jurisprudence degree from the University of Tennessee College of Law in 1976.  Married to wife Patricia for more than 41 years, Gwin’s children attended Wilson County public schools, and both hold Master’s degrees in the field of health care.  In the arena of community service, he has served as president or board chair for Wilson County CASA and the Mt. Juliet Senior Center.  He has past service on the Board of Prospect, Inc., the Board of the West Wilson Chamber of Commerce, and was the first secretary and treasurer for the Wilson County Sports Authority.  He is also a Paul Harris Fellow in Rotary, International.

“Successful service as family court judge requires considerable training, experience and patience.  I am respectfully asking the citizens of Wilson County to allow me to continue to serve in this vitally important position.”

<< Start < Prev 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 Next > End >>

Page 68 of 185