Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

Christmas car thief caught
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

A man who stole a car in West Tennessee was found sleeping in that car in Mt. Juliet the day after Christmas. 

Alex Cartwright, 24, Memphis stole the car on Christmas day as the victim was dropping off gifts at a home. The car was left running, so Cartwright jumped in and took off. 

Time once again to pick MJ’s best
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

It’s time once again to have your voice heard about what the best choices for Mt. Juliet are in dining, shopping, business services and education. 

The second annual Best of Mt. Juliet voting begins Thursday, Jan. 2. All voting will be done through the website,, but if you want to vote in person, you can come by our office at 11509 Lebanon Road in Mt. Juliet. 

We have over 70 categories this year, many of the same as last year, but some new ones as well like Best Smoothie, Best Seafood, Best Florist, Best Handmade Jewelry, Best Gift Shop and Best Title Company. There is still many of the favorites from last year like Best Dance Studio, Best Elementary, Middle and High School, Best Pizza, Best Hamburger and many, many others. 

On Thursday, there will be two spots to click on to go to the voting. There will be an image at the top of the page, and a link down at the bottom. The voting is limited to one vote per IP address, so if you are voting in an office or school that has multiple computers on one IP, and someone else has already voted, you will not be able to vote. However, you can access it from your home computer. 

If we have forgotten a local business, please let us know. We can still add a business if your favorite is not listed. Just let us know, and we will add it within a day of getting the message. 

If you have any questions about the voting, give us a call at 754-6111 or email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Wilson County Veterans Plaza accepting bids and donations
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

The Wilson County Veterans Park and Museum is projected to open at the end of May 2014 and is now accepting bids and donations.  

“We have had several people to call and ask how they could be a part of this beautiful contribution to our veterans,” Bernie Ash, veterans service officer said.

There are two different ways you can contribute.  First, is by donation.  You can come by the Veteran’s Service Office located in the Wilson County Courthouse or call 444-2460; Bernie Ash is willing to meet with anyone to discuss the layout and detail of the project and how you can be a part. 

Second, is by contributions of materials.  A donation of supplies or labor is needed to build the park.  

There has been a meeting set up at 10AM, December 30 in the Commission Room at the Wilson County Courthouse for people to attend and discuss what is needed in terms of materials, supplies and labor.  The meeting is open to the public and we will be taking contributions and taking suggestions of who we can get to take care of the needs for the project.  

The Veteran Services Office has worked hard preparing fundraisers for the park.  They have sold T-shirts, bricks in memory of a veteran and those in support of a veteran.  

If you plan to donate materials, supplies or labor and are unable to attend the meeting you can pick up a bid packet from the Phoenix Builders group.  Our goal is to do all donations of this nature through the bid packet. 

“We hope everyone will get excited as we generate something to honor the people who have sacrificed over the years for our freedom, veterans,” County Mayor Randall Hutto said. 

Steve Robinson of Phoenix Commercial Builders, LLC was awarded the construction manager for the project, he was the lowest bidder.  

Bids will go out on January 6; bids will be opened on January 16 and reviewed on January 17.  Construction on the park is projected to start February 3.

For more information contact the Veteran Services Office at 444-2460.  Bernie Ash or Mrs. Carol Dedman in the office can answer your questions. 

Top stories of 2013
Tuesday, December 17, 2013

This is our last paper of 2013, so we are going to take a look back at what shaped our great city over the past year. 


The traffic cameras disappeared from intersections around Mt. Juliet as the contract was voted not to be renewed by the City Commissioners. 

Shoplifters wanted by MJPD
Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Three shoplifters, who continue to strike area retailers, are wanted by Mt. Juliet Police.  

According to the Mt. Juliet Police Department, Friday, Dec. 6, the group targeted Best Buy in the Providence MarketPlace and stole over $1000 in merchandise. 

<< Start < Prev 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 Next > End >>

Page 73 of 179