Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

This Week In...1983
Tuesday, January 7, 2014

In this week’s “This Week In…” we will move ahead a year and look at what was happening in the second week of 1983. 

Wilson County made a list of roadwork needs for the area. One of those on the list was a need for warning lights at the intersection of I-40 and Mt. Juliet Road. There were no lights or a stop sign at that time, and the accident rate was three times the normal rate. Also, 12 residents on Posey Hill Road, between Beckwith Road and Central Pike, requested that their gravel road be paved. Also, a wooden bridge on Stewarts Ferry Pike was to be repaired because it had deteriorated. 

The County Commission was also planning to ask the Tennessee State Legislature to lift the drinking age from 19 to 21. 

The Chronicle of Mt. Juliet also corrected a previous story that said the Mt. Juliet Chief of Police’s salary was $26,020. It was actually $16,020. 

The Mt. Juliet Lady Bears improved to 16-0 with wins over Dupont and Hendersonville. The Lady Bears leading scorer in both games was Kim Satterfield. The Bears split their games, beating Dupont, but losing to Hendersonville. Steve Clemmons led the Bears in scoring in both of those games. 

Sen. Beavers sponsoring legislation to protect electronic device privacy
Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Senator Mae Beavers (R-Mt. Juliet) announced today she will introduce legislation to prohibit state and local police agencies from accessing or retrieving the location data of residents by surveillance of an electronic device without a court warrant.  Beavers said the bill helps ensure the government does not take advantage of technological advances in cell phones, laptops and other electronic devices to spy without appropriate judicial oversight.

“The government and law enforcement agencies should not be able to tap into your cell phone location or gain access to electronically stored data without a warrant approved by a judge,” said Senator Beavers.  “We cannot let technological advances sidestep the Fourth Amendment.  This protection is a very important part of the checks and balances put into place by our forefathers to keep government from overstepping is boundaries.” 

Law enforcement made 1.1 million requests to wireless carriers for cellphone data information in 2012 according to a report delivered to Congress earlier this month.  The three largest wireless companies, AT&T, Sprint and Verizon reported they have received 56,400 “emergency” requests from police departments which did not have a warrant or court order.  One company reported their requests from police have doubled in the past five years.  

In addition, public records obtained by USA Today and Gannett reveal that about one in four law enforcement agencies in the U.S. have used “tower dumps.”  This is a surveillance tactic which covers multiple towers and wireless providers to give police a multitude of electronic data about a targeted cell phone user.  The digital dragnets also capture information on other persons using wireless devices in the area who are not suspected of wrongdoing.  

Beavers said her electronic privacy bill will be modeled after one passed by Montana which allows exceptions only in order to respond to a possible life-threatening situation, an emergency call by the user or when a device is reported as stolen, unless there is informed consent by the owner.  

“Citizens must be protected from unreasonable government surveillance,” added Beavers.  “This legislation is a big step forward in securing our Constitutional freedoms.”

Suspicious man tries to lure girl into his car
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

A suspicious man tried to lure an 8-year-old girl into his Sunday afternoon. 

According to the Mt. Juliet Police Department, around 3 p.m. at the 200 block of Ridgeview Preserve Drive, the male, driving a gray, newer-model Chevrolet Malibu or Impala, talked to the little girl and requested that she get into the car. Her mother was nearby and yelled for the girl to get away from the man. As the man was leaving, the man yelled to the mother that her daughter did the “right thing”. The car had extra antennas mounted on the exterior and a dog kennel in the back seat area. The man also had a dog with him. 

Christmas car thief caught
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

A man who stole a car in West Tennessee was found sleeping in that car in Mt. Juliet the day after Christmas. 

Alex Cartwright, 24, Memphis stole the car on Christmas day as the victim was dropping off gifts at a home. The car was left running, so Cartwright jumped in and took off. 

Time once again to pick MJ’s best
Tuesday, December 31, 2013

It’s time once again to have your voice heard about what the best choices for Mt. Juliet are in dining, shopping, business services and education. 

The second annual Best of Mt. Juliet voting begins Thursday, Jan. 2. All voting will be done through the website,, but if you want to vote in person, you can come by our office at 11509 Lebanon Road in Mt. Juliet. 

We have over 70 categories this year, many of the same as last year, but some new ones as well like Best Smoothie, Best Seafood, Best Florist, Best Handmade Jewelry, Best Gift Shop and Best Title Company. There is still many of the favorites from last year like Best Dance Studio, Best Elementary, Middle and High School, Best Pizza, Best Hamburger and many, many others. 

On Thursday, there will be two spots to click on to go to the voting. There will be an image at the top of the page, and a link down at the bottom. The voting is limited to one vote per IP address, so if you are voting in an office or school that has multiple computers on one IP, and someone else has already voted, you will not be able to vote. However, you can access it from your home computer. 

If we have forgotten a local business, please let us know. We can still add a business if your favorite is not listed. Just let us know, and we will add it within a day of getting the message. 

If you have any questions about the voting, give us a call at 754-6111 or email to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

<< Start < Prev 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 Next > End >>

Page 78 of 185