Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

MJ's Crickmar wins top honors at 4-H championships
Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Lily Jean Crickmar of Mt. Juliet, competed in the 2012 Tennessee State 4-H Championships in Shelbyville, June 18-23. Competing at the show and being able to represent Wilson County was a terrific honor for the Stoner Creek upcoming fifth-grader. Some of the best youth riders in Tennessee spent months preparing for the show in hopes of improving their relationships with their horses, bringing home ribbons, or even being named Champion. 

New blue voter registration cards coming in the mail
Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Every active registered voter in Wilson County will receive a new blue voter registration card in the mail. 

Wilson County along with the other 94 Tennessee counties has new district lines due to redistricting that takes place every 10 years. The blue voter registration card has each voter’s current polling place and district information on it. Over 63,000 cards were printed, put in envelopes and mailed the last week. 

The new cards have every voter’s individual voting information on them. The districts and poll location is determined by where the voter lives. Voters who have changed addresses should provide written notice to the Wilson County Election Commission either in person or my mail as soon as possible.

“We encourage voters to inspect their card carefully and contact the Wilson County Election Commission with questions or concerns,” said Phillip Warren, Wilson County Administrator of Elections. “Election Day is Aug. 2. We want to take time now to straighten out any registration issues and not delay any one who votes during Early Voting or on Election Day,” Warren continued.

Early voting for the Aug. 2 election begins on July 13. Early Voting in Lebanon at the Election Commission Office and in Mt Juliet at the Mt Juliet Community Center will be open July 13 through July 28. Early Voting sites in Watertown at the Watertown Community Center and, for the first time, in Gladeville at the Gladeville Community Center will be open July 23 through July 28. Warren encourages, “Wilson County voters to take advantage of one the four convenient Early Voting sites this election.” 

“Remember to bring your State or federally issued photo ID when you come to vote during Early Voting or on Election Day. You can vote without a voter registration card, but not without proper photo ID” Warren commented.

Watch your mail for your new blue voter registration card. If you have not received it by July 13 please contact the Wilson County Election Commission.

4 days sell at MJ Animal Shelter, adoptions for only $25
Tuesday, July 3, 2012

After July 4, for four days only, any dog or cat can be adopted for $25 at the Mt. Juliet Animal Shelter.  

That’s all you pay. 

The Benefit Fund will pay the rest. 

All dogs and cats will have had all their shots and been spayed or neutered. 

Appropriate applications must be filled out. 

Mt. Juliet Animal Shelter is located at 115 Industrial Drive in Mt. Juliet. 

They are open six days a week from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.  

They are closed Wednesdays to the public.

Visit us on Facebook:!/pages/Mt-Juliet-Animal-Shelter/162510187147516, or on Petfinder:

Commissioners pass yearly budget
Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

The Mt. Juliet Board of Commissioners passed the yearly budget Monday, and took the next step in hiring a City Manager. 

Planning commission approves school additions to Rutland, West Wilson
Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

The City of Mt. Juliet Planning Commission approved site plans for the additions to West Wilson Middle School and Rutland Elementary Thursday. 

<< Start < Prev 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 Next > End >>

Page 110 of 122