Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

ASG makes blankets for Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital
Tuesday, April 23, 2013

The Nashville Chapter of American Sewing Guild (ASG) completed 55 fleece blankets for Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt during their recent fifth Saturday charity sewing day. 

A grant from the Mt. Juliet Walmart allowed the group to buy the fleece required to make the blankets that fold into a pillow. 

Over 15 of the chapter members worked in “production line” style, cutting, hemming pockets, attaching the pockets, and finishing the edges. 

It was a great partnership between business and non-profit group that helped to meet a need for the hospital. 

According to Kim Mangrum, Volunteer Coordinator at the hospital, “I love the blankets. The Childcare staff will love that there are blankets suitable for teen boys as we don’t receive as many donations for that category as we do for some of the others.” 

Tonya Pullen, Walmart Manager, and Jessica Alexander, Walmart Assistant Manager, joined some of the ASG members for the donation. 

This first time visit left both saying they were very impressed with Monroe Carell. Tonya said, “I’m glad that Walmart can partner with a group to help meet needs at the wonderful facility.”  

The American Sewing Guild, Inc. (ASG) is a not-for-profit education based organization, founded in 1978. ASG is comprised of 125 chapters throughout the US with over 1,000 community and special interest groups. 

ASG’s over 20,000 members promote the mission to “advance sewing as an art and life skill” by providing a network of sewing education and support for sewing enthusiasts of all skill levels, serving as preservers of the sewing arts in America, promoting community engagement through service projects, sharing sewing arts with new generations and being key participants in both consumer and industry-wide events that promote sewing activity. 

The Nashville chapter meets the 2nd Saturday of the month at 9:30 at International Academy of Design and Technology. Search for Nashville ASG for more information about the local chapter.

2020 vision for MJ
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

Vice Mayor James Maness presented a list of projects to the commissioners Monday, April 8 of what he would like to see done by the year 2020. 

3rd annual Summer Festival of Art
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

The third annual Summer Festival of Art & Music to benefit the Mt. Juliet Senior Activity Center is scheduled for Saturday, May 11 from 10 a.m. till 4 p.m.

The agenda includes six, 45 minute country music acts on an outdoor stage beginning at 10 a.m.

10 a.m. – TBD

Schools asking businesses for TCAP encouragement
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Mt. Juliet and W.A. Wright Elementaries are asking local businesses to post signs of encouragement the week of SAT-10 and TCAP testing. 

Across Wilson & Davidson Counties, the Pre-K through 8th grade students will test on April 25, 26, 29 and 30.

The SAT-10 and TCAP Assessment is a set of statewide assessments given in Tennessee to measure students’ skills and progress.  To show your support during testing, Mt. Juliet Elementary is asking you to display words of encouragement for all students on your business advertising sign/message board.

Sign suggestions could be phrases like “Do your BEST on the TEST” or “We wish you luck on TCAP.” If you have a restaurant, you could use “Fuel your brain for TCAP here” or “Kids test best with a full belly.” 

If you have any questions about this great opportunity to support our schools, email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Elzie Patton Principal’s List, Honor Roll
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Principal’s List

2nd Grade: Sophia Buchanan, Jacob Cox, Cooper Leech, Ethan Lowman, Andrew Moore, Emilee Wells, Cali Hughes, Landon Prophit, Carinne Burnette, Ethan Cox, Cayce Caum, Isabella Fleming, Jordan Grant, Gracey Plemons, Jacob Salvino, Anna Clair Swindol, Emily Starling, Mya Henry, Heidi Beckman, Juan Fernandez, Ella Miller, Abby WrightReaghan Ard, Hallie Clark, McKenzie fitzgerald, Tyler Vestal, Makayla Wiseman, Sierra Wyks, Macie Jordan, Nate Long, Trevor McGee, Abby Norman, Grant Sawyer, Avary Summers.

3rd Grade: John Reed Hill, Anna Davidson, Ethan Grossman.

4th Grade: Matthew Delfendahl, Ellen Ewing, Maddie Judd, Grace Reese, Zach Smith, Ella Mercer, Taylor Vestal, Joel Wallace.

5th Grade: Zach Delfendahl, Mina Ibrahim, Chloe Young, Carter Williams, Kimmi Tran.

Honor Roll

2nd Grade: Kohen Bohanan, Romario Borno, Hudson Boys, Rylee Cooper, Grace Mechinus, Julianna Mekhail, Jared Thornberg, Abigail Warburton, Saundra Berry, Abigail Brandrup, Nikolaus Ford, Allie Haas, Mena Helmy, Dawson Hinckley, Brycen Ledbetter, Kayla Pitkin, Quinnesha Smith, Emily Broekhuizen, Drew Donathan, Brynn Everett, Callie Kinslow, Kaylie Padgett, Ryan Samulski, Ella Schmidt, Willow Stewart, Elijah Taylor, Ja’dyn Hill, Joshua Huckaba, Matthew Jackson, Brayden Joyner, Brooklyn Maes, Jaynie Pillai, Marlie Saich, Noah Burgess, Zayd Alshaikh, Coen Baldwin, Lathan Barker, Reese Burns, Ethan Carr, Charley Clark, Dylan Cole, Madilyn Hacker, Ashley Demonbreun, Neve Glasser, Bishoy Ibrahim, Evie Johnston, Stephen Mason, Ryan McWilliams, Mikalah Schreiber.

3rd Grade: Carson Marks, Emma Conatser, Jacob Cook, Hailee Nichols, Abby Zweig, Charlie Ewing, Marina Gergis, Hannah Kim, Grace Nichols, Tres Snyder, Rebecca Eiseman, Jaime Romero, Abby Taylor, Campbell Miller, Brylee Sayer, Ethan Holmes, Savanna Arnone, Daniel Davidson, Jackson Fink, Lexy Halbert, Jonathan Huckaba, Alec Jakalski, Ashlynn Lounsbury, Tannor Meyer, Karma Wymer, Elle Jae Frazier, Joslyn Hatter, Brennan Jolley, Clara Samuel, Isabel Silva, Zack Ziebarth, Anna Zweig.

4th Grade: Brenden Shaw, Lance Terwilliger, Dalton Parish, Jordan Barga, Hannah Beckman, Allie Brady, Jackson Clark, Abby Davidson, Madeline Fleming, Jenna Hayes, Cerentie Hudson, Riley Jackson, Daniel Duggan, Gavin Halbert, Sidney Larkin, Paige Smith, Josiah Thomas, Nick Barton, Kermina Hanna, Hope Johnson, Creighton Wester, Parker Walden, Cara Turner, Daniel Tignor, Jonathan Mason, Olive Jolley, Jude Hassell.

5th Grade: Grace Clark, Michael Hardy, Aly Kniffin, JimmyMcHone, Luke Roberts, Jasmyn Parks, Dylan Rankhorn, Joseph Helmy, Steven Yassa, Lily Wilson, Jessica Voyles, Benny Pirrone, Gina Ibrahim, Saphia Hofmann, Mira Aziz, Rachael Baldwin, Ethan Brandrup, Caleb Conatser, Bailey Barrett, Mark Broekhuizen, Alivia Grove, Ellie Mower, Isabella Perry, Savannah Seckman, Emmy Stein, Rhiannon Carlisle, Camryn Cernuto, Jasmine Cook, Abbi Davidson, Evan Jamison, Caden Krause, Hannah Long, Faith McCarthy, Mariah Morris, Alex Overstreet.

<< Start < Prev 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 Next > End >>

Page 112 of 179