Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

Davis speaks to Chamber
Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

Outgoing Wilson County Director of Schools Mike Davis spoke to the Mt. Juliet/West Wilson Chamber of Commerce Wednesday, and laid out all the success the school system has seen over the last few years. 

“You can be very proud,” said Davis. “You have a wonderful school system.”

Davis said this has been the best school system he has worked for in his 41 years in education. However, he thinks they can be better. 

“Wilson County can be the premiere school system in Tennessee,” said Davis. 

Davis said one of the most important things the school system has done recently is put a school resource officer in every school. He said he believed Wilson County is the first school system in Tennessee to do so. Davis said he doesn’t believe in arming the teachers. He said they need to focus on learning. 

He said one area that the system can improve on is teacher salaries. Wilson County has the lowest per pupil funding than any adjacent county, and the school system is losing teachers to those systems. He said that math teachers can start in Wilson County at $33,000 or go to Metro Nashville Public Schools and make $40,000. 

“It’s not hard for a math teacher to figure that out,” said Davis. 

Wilson County Schools is 8th from the bottom in the entire state for per pupil expenditure at $7,803 per student. 

Davis said the school system in 2012 recorded its best state report card in the system’s history with all As in math, reading/language arts, social studies and science in grades three through eight. 

Davis said the graduation rate has climbed to 95.5 percent for the school system, but he said they won’t stop improving that score until they reach 100 percent. 

There are four building projects going on right now  - additions to West Elementary, West Wilson Middle School, and new buildings for Rutland Elementary and Watertown High School. 

Davis went over the drawings and plans for each school. He said that in the next five years, if growth holds, the western end of the county will need another high school, middle school and possibly two elementary schools. 

Davis resigned from his position as Director of Schools, and he will be leaving in June. He has accepted the same position at Robertson County Schools. 

ASG makes blankets for Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital
Tuesday, April 23, 2013

The Nashville Chapter of American Sewing Guild (ASG) completed 55 fleece blankets for Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt during their recent fifth Saturday charity sewing day. 

A grant from the Mt. Juliet Walmart allowed the group to buy the fleece required to make the blankets that fold into a pillow. 

Over 15 of the chapter members worked in “production line” style, cutting, hemming pockets, attaching the pockets, and finishing the edges. 

It was a great partnership between business and non-profit group that helped to meet a need for the hospital. 

According to Kim Mangrum, Volunteer Coordinator at the hospital, “I love the blankets. The Childcare staff will love that there are blankets suitable for teen boys as we don’t receive as many donations for that category as we do for some of the others.” 

Tonya Pullen, Walmart Manager, and Jessica Alexander, Walmart Assistant Manager, joined some of the ASG members for the donation. 

This first time visit left both saying they were very impressed with Monroe Carell. Tonya said, “I’m glad that Walmart can partner with a group to help meet needs at the wonderful facility.”  

The American Sewing Guild, Inc. (ASG) is a not-for-profit education based organization, founded in 1978. ASG is comprised of 125 chapters throughout the US with over 1,000 community and special interest groups. 

ASG’s over 20,000 members promote the mission to “advance sewing as an art and life skill” by providing a network of sewing education and support for sewing enthusiasts of all skill levels, serving as preservers of the sewing arts in America, promoting community engagement through service projects, sharing sewing arts with new generations and being key participants in both consumer and industry-wide events that promote sewing activity. 

The Nashville chapter meets the 2nd Saturday of the month at 9:30 at International Academy of Design and Technology. Search for Nashville ASG for more information about the local chapter.

2020 vision for MJ
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Kenny Howell

Managing Editor

Vice Mayor James Maness presented a list of projects to the commissioners Monday, April 8 of what he would like to see done by the year 2020. 

3rd annual Summer Festival of Art
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

The third annual Summer Festival of Art & Music to benefit the Mt. Juliet Senior Activity Center is scheduled for Saturday, May 11 from 10 a.m. till 4 p.m.

The agenda includes six, 45 minute country music acts on an outdoor stage beginning at 10 a.m.

10 a.m. – TBD

Schools asking businesses for TCAP encouragement
Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Mt. Juliet and W.A. Wright Elementaries are asking local businesses to post signs of encouragement the week of SAT-10 and TCAP testing. 

Across Wilson & Davidson Counties, the Pre-K through 8th grade students will test on April 25, 26, 29 and 30.

The SAT-10 and TCAP Assessment is a set of statewide assessments given in Tennessee to measure students’ skills and progress.  To show your support during testing, Mt. Juliet Elementary is asking you to display words of encouragement for all students on your business advertising sign/message board.

Sign suggestions could be phrases like “Do your BEST on the TEST” or “We wish you luck on TCAP.” If you have a restaurant, you could use “Fuel your brain for TCAP here” or “Kids test best with a full belly.” 

If you have any questions about this great opportunity to support our schools, email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

<< Start < Prev 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 Next > End >>

Page 120 of 187