News Ticker

Candidates file petitions for republican and democratic Special Election primary

The deadline for candidates to turn in petitions to be on the Nov. 7 Special Election ballot to fill the District 17 State Senate vacancy was Thursday, Sept. 28 at noon. One candidate filed for each primary: Mark Pody for the Republican primary and Mary Alice Carfi for the Democratic primary.

Tennessee law requires a special election be called by the Governor to replace a vacant senate seat if the vacancy occurs twelve months or more before the next state general election. The next regular state general election is fourteen months away. The Governor set Nov. 7 for the primary and Dec. 19 for the general special election. Both elections will be held in all of the six counties

making up the 17th State Senate District: Wilson, Cannon, Dekalb, Smith, Clay and Macon.

The Republican and Democratic Primary Election on Nov. 7 will determine the party nominees that will be on the General Election ballot in December. The winner of the General Election on Dec. 19 will serve the remainder of the unexpired State Senate term which ends in 2018.

Tennessee law requires that primary elections be held for political party to allow members of that party to select a nominee to appear on the general election ballot. Registered voters who are affiliated with the Republican or Democratic Party, or who, at the time they vote intend to affiliate with that party, participate in Primary Elections. Voters do not register by political party in Tennessee but they must declare a party choice before voting in a Party Primary.

To avoid lines at the polls or something coming up at the last minute to keep you from voting, take advantage of Early Voting for these special elections. There will be five convenient Early Voting sites in Wilson County:

Lebanon at 203 E Main St., Mt. Juliet at 1075 Charlie Daniels Pkwy., Lighthouse Church at 6141Saundersville Rd., Gladeville at the Community Center, Watertown at the Community Center.

The Election Commission Office and the Mt. Juliet Community Center sites will be open Oct. 18 through Nov. 2.  The other three locations will be open from Oct. 23 through Oct. 28. The hours of early voting at all the sites are Monday through Friday 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. and on Saturdays from 8 a.m. until 1 p.m.

The last day to register to vote in the Primary Election is Oct. 10.With the introduction of online voter registration, registering or changing an address is easier than ever before. The process only takes a few minutes. New voters or residents who recently moved and need to update registration can take advantage of the quick and easy online system.

To register online, go to and click on the Online Voter Registration link. Paper forms are also available to download on the website, to complete at the Election Commission office and are found at most government offices.

To learn more about elections, Early Voting, registering to vote and how you can be involved with Wilson County elections, contact the Wilson County Election Commission at 615-444-0216 or online at the website provided.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply