News Ticker

School Board votes to adjust calendar

The Wilson County Board of Education recently approved changes to the 2019-2020 academic calendar, at the suggestion of the director of schools. Fall break will now be only one week, and students will receive an additional full week break for Thanksgiving.

“The decision to change the school calendar is based on a host of issues, the most compelling of which was my desire for our district to have a schedule that meets the needs of our students as a whole,” said Director of Schools Donna Wright.

Wright said that because many parents cannot take two weeks off before a major holiday, causing them to pay additional for childcare or else leave older children at home unattended.

“The lengthy breaks are also a challenge for our students with special needs, who do better when their routine isn’t interrupted,” said Wright. “Our elementary students also tend to regress on the heels of such a long break. ”

She also said that the district is one of the last in the state to have a two week fall break because many have chosen to eliminate it for similar reasons. The previous director of Wilson County Schools eliminated the two week spring break and tried to do the same for fall break.

A survey for parents, teachers and staff was conducted last fall to gauge the opinion of changing the academic calendar, but less than half responded. The majority of those who did said they preferred the two week break.

After Wright’s recommendation, the board voted 4-3 to eliminate the two-week break.

Changes to school start and end times were also approved at the board meeting and will take effect in the 2019-2020 academic year. According to Wilson County Schools, some students were waiting at the bus stop at 5:30 a.m.

The changes listed below can also be viewed at

The following schools will begin and end 15 minutes later than they currently do: Elzie D. Patton Elementary, Gladeville Elementary, Lakeview Elementary, Mt. Juliet Elementary, Mt. Juliet Middle, Mt. Juliet High, Rutland Elementary, Southside Elementary, Springdale Elementary, Stoner Creek Elementary, W.A. Wright Elementary, West Elementary, West Wilson Middle, and Wilson Central High.

The following schools will begin and end 30 minutes later than the currently do: Lebanon High, Carroll-Oakland Elementary, Tuckers Crossroads Elementary, Watertown Elementary, Watertown Middle, and Watertown High.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply